I, Coriander

Last week the lovely E. of Academichic called up all fashion-minded bookworms to join her in creating a look inspired by a book cover. Of course I jumped at it. And that was when I realized, I have a lot of favorite books, but in terms of favorite book covers, I only have two: the US edition of “I, Coriander” by Sally Gardner, and the UK/European edition of “Fragile Things” by Neil Gaiman.

After debating, I finally went with “I, Coriander.” Confession: I actually bought the book because of the cover. Luckily it turns out to be a pretty good story too 🙂

Yes, technically this is very similar to my “Flower Child” outfit, so I replaced my enamel brooch with this pin that I made myself from a fabric flower (just hot-glued a fabric flower to a brooch back, that’s it!) I think the darker orange matches the hair of the girl on the cover better than the bright orange of the enamel brooch. Also, I didn’t want to go too literal by wearing pearls (I’m not a pearl kind of girl anyway), so I represent that color by the belt.

I might do the “Fragile Things” cover one of these days.

Blouse: from home, remixed
Cardigan: thrifted, remixed
Jeans: The Limited thrifted, remixed
Flats: Me Too, thrifted
Belt: thrifted
Flower Pin: self-made, from Michael’s fabric flower

3 Comments on “I, Coriander”

  1. Sara @ Aqui says:

    What a gorgeous book cover! You depicted it very well!

  2. […] from 14 Shades of Grey took inspiration from a book that she bought because of the cover in the first place — Sally […]

  3. […] “I, Coriander.” Considering this was for a challenge with Academichic, I thought it’d get more comments (it did get me a lot of views though.) […]


Leave a Reply

