Perhaps In Slytherin

Or perhaps in Slytherin
You’ll make your real friends,
Those cunning folk use any means
To achieve their ends.
– The Sorting Hat Song (Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone)


My Slytherin face 😛

The next Bloggers Do It Better challenge is “Prep School,” where we have to feature a tie and blazer/vest/cardigan in our outfit. At first, my inspiration was this picture of Emma Watson for her Lancome campaign. I was in Goodwill looking for a solid-colored tie, when I saw this gold-and-scarlet tie which I was pretty sure was a Gryffindor tie (also because it says “Universal Studios” on the tag – my Goodwill sure gets a lot of things from there!) So I abandoned my Lancome Emma Watson inspiration and went with Harry Potter instead.

I didn’t get the Gryffindor tie, because I’m not a Gryffindor (not brave enough), but I’ll gladly take Ravenclaw or Slytherin (poor Hufflepuff gets a bad rap. Nobody wants to be a Hufflepuff!) Fortunately my friend Debbi has a legit Slytherin tie from her college day, and it’s perfect for me – my Internet alias is Salazar for a reason! (The tie is from Alivan’s. If you’re a hardcore HP fan you’ve probably drooled over that store like me, and if you don’t know what it is, don’t worry about it.)

Anyway, long story short (once I start on HP, it’s difficult to shut up): for the BDIB challenge, I’m dressing up as a Slytherin student. The only thing missing is a house crest on my cardigan and a wand. Also, I don’t think they’re allowed to wear boots in Hogwarts, but hey, we Slytherins are nothing if not rule-breakers 😀

Dressed like this, and walking through the rain with Travis in my headphones, I feel so wonderfully British. Does that make me pretentious? Or does it just make me an Anglophile? That’s OK, I know I’m an Anglophile.

Button-down: Target, remixed
Cardigan: Target, remixed
Skirt: Gap, thrifted
Boots: Journee via Amazon, remixed
Belt: Forever21
Tights: Either Target or CVS, I don’t remember
Slytherin tie: Alivan’s, borrowed from Debbi

7 Comments on “Perhaps In Slytherin”

  1. Sara @ Aqui says:

    you nailed it 🙂 Love your look! I really wanted to participate in this challenge but i’m traveling around (currently in Hawaii) and don’t have a tie, my bf only wears swim trunks and flip flops so he was no help. Yours is currently one of my fav looks for this bdib challenge!

  2. ikedela says:

    I love love the boots look

  3. haha, we don’t all wear this look 24/7 in the UK! Love your skirt with the slouchy boots.

  4. Tiffany says:

    I LOVE this. It’s like punky school-girl meets pulled-together secretary. I think. Anyways, you look very cool.

  5. Aubrey says:

    I like your take on prep school 🙂 the tie really stands out and makes the outfit. The boots are cool because they are not the obvious choice.
    Aubrey

  6. I like how you mixed in the black tights and boots with the preppy. It looks really edgy.

    I’d love it if you would stop by and see how a 45+ year old handles “Prep School”—you might find something to smile about anyway! See you there! http://stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/2011/05/menswear-american-prep-outfits-modeled-by-women-over-45-bloggers-do-it-better/

    We have $75 Dress GIveaway on our right hand sidebar. Win something for yourself!
    The Chief Blonde

  7. […] The title has nothing to do with the post really, it’s just that I’m watching the HP Marathon on ABC Family. Plus I dressed up as a Slytherin on Wednesday. […]


Leave a Reply

