Weekend Round-Up: Happy Mother’s Day

We don’t celebrate Mother’s Day in Vietnam, but I still want to give a shout out to my mom. Love you, Mom. Miss you too. I wish you all the best on this day, and every other day 🙂

meumbrella in the miston the beach

I forgot about these photos! In the first one my mom’s holding me, and my sister is standing next to us. The other two are probably some of my favorite photos that I took of my mom (and my dad too – he’s the one holding the umbrella on the beach.)

Now, on with business:

Lesson of the Week: You know what, I think I’ve found a skirt silhouette that works for me – A-line or full. I know it seems like a no-brainer because of my broad shoulders, but I didn’t think about it until now. So yeah, fitted on top, and full at the bottom. Like these two:

Blog of the Week: Tom and Lorenzo. I’ve mentioned this blog before, but since they just moved to a new, more professional-looking domain, I feel it’s timely to feature them as my Blog of the Week. This is pretty much the only celebrity style blog I read. Forget about Fashion Police and all that, my fabulous and opinionated gay uncles are all I need when it comes to judging celebrities and their fashion. Read it! I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too.

Book of the Week: “Soul Music” by Terry Pratchett.


This is the UK book cover (which I have.) Why are UK Discworld covers always so much cooler ?

There are a few authors whom I will read anything written by: Neil Gaiman, Ray Bradbury, Jasper Fforde, Bill Bryson, Peter Mayle. And Terry Pratchett. I’m slowly working my way through the Discworld series; so far I’ve read about 8 of them, and the story might or might not work, but the writing never fails to crack me up. This one is about the invention of rock ‘n roll (or “Music With Rocks In”) on Discworld. The story itself is a bit too cluttered, but, much like “Moving Pictures” (about the invention of movies), it’s full of askew references to our world – with bands like Lead Balloon and &U (pronounced “And You”). And full of quotable gems. It’ll be too long to list them, so check them out here and here if you want (but my absolute favorite is: “The question seldom addressed is where Medusa had snakes. Underarm hair is an even more embarassing problem when it keeps biting the top of the deodorant bottle.”)

Song of the Week: “Push” by Matchbox 20. Hey, remember when MTV used to play music? They played this song all the time when we first got cable, so this is what the 90’s sounds like to me.

Wow. Haven’t seen this video in a loooooong time. They all looked so young back then!


2 Comments on “Weekend Round-Up: Happy Mother’s Day”

  1. […] Shades Of Grey an attempt to add colors to my wardrobe « Weekend Round-Up: Happy Mother’s Day Everybody, Everywear Challenge: Floral May 9, […]

  2. […] it’s the same thing like last week with Matchbox 20′s “Push.” I’ve followed these bands for so long I forgot […]


Leave a comment