Black And White

This week’s assignment for Bloggers Do It Better is “White Out”, the all-white spring/summer trend. It’s a bit of a challenge for me because I don’t own that many white things – only a button-up and couple of T-shirts and camis I use for layering. I’d planned to do a layered look, but the weather had another idea (it’s near 90 degrees today), so this is the best I came up with:

Polo shirt: Gap, from home
Shorts: Express, thrifted
Flats: Sag Harbor, thrifted
Sash: just a length of ribbon that I cut out and trimmed

I’m not entirely happy with this look. My shirt isn’t white (not even off-white) but more of a light sandy color, which looks kinda weird paired with the white-white short (I could’ve worn my white button-up, but I wanted something a little more loose-fitting for the heat.) Also, I think a larger belt/sash would look better, but this is the only size of ribbon I have on hands. And I wanted to keep it in the black/white color scheme, so that’s that.

Oh well. What’s the point of doing a style blog if you don’t have hits-and-misses, right?

5 Comments on “Black And White”

  1. I didn’t find it a miss. I liked it! Especially the ribbon. WIsh I could see the shoes better, they look cute!

    Would love it, if you would stop by and see how a 45+ year old handles “White Out”—you might get a good chuckle anyway! See you there! http://stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/2011/05/white-out-change-it-up-outfits-modeled-by-women-over-45/

  2. shishi says:

    Black & white always works but I think you should wear longer pants or short like these but with heels 🙂

    xoxo
    http://shishiwaldorf.blogspot.com/

  3. […] explain the title: I feel like today’s outfit is a combination of Monday‘s outfit  and yesterday‘s outfit , not only in form (polo shirt tucked into short + […]

  4. […] as long as the color is not close to my face, I’d be fine. So I dug out my old pair of white shorts and dyed them in a light shade of teal, mixed with a splash of green. So far, so good. But […]


Leave a Reply

