A Very Steampunk Party

Yesterday was Debbi’s birthday, but it was also book sale + diner Saturday. I knew I was going to dress up all steampunk for the party (we were going to the bar converted from Edison’s old factory, after all), but I didn’t want to lug around a bunch of clothes with me in the morning, so I had to find a look that would translate into “steampunk” with a few simple changes.

So I went with a Roaring Twenties-inspired outfit in the morning…

Blouse: from home
Skirt: thrifted, remixed
Flats & Cloche: Payless, remixed
Cameo necklace: Forever21

… and La Belle Époque at night:

Add a blazer (thrifted), a pair of boots (Journee via Amazon, remixed) and a fascinator (Icing), and I’m ready to party as a steampunk socialite! (It’s Debbi’s birthday, so I let her put my hair down. Enjoy people, because this might be the only time you get to see it.)

Debbi and Emma were equally fabulous:


We then met up at the Edison bar. And the place is, I’m telling you, awesome. There are screens on the wall where they show silent movies, and a lady with green fairy wings going around selling absinthe.



Even their bathroom is cool!

And here are the rest of the party:


This is the only group shot I managed to get. From left: Cary, Alec, Debbi and Matt (there were more people, but my guess is that they were too busy at the bar…)


Alec is wondering how to steal the table… I know, Alec. Me too.


The birthday girl!

Oh and before I forget, this is my birthday present for Debbi:

It’s a shirt that says “Keep Calm and Then Exterminate Exterminate Exterminate.” It’s perfect for an Anglophile and Doctor Who fan.


Debbi and her crappy car. She insisted that it deserved a spot on my blog.

3 Comments on “A Very Steampunk Party”

  1. Claudia says:

    Woman! Your hair down looks great! Do that more often! 🙂

  2. Love the hat! I guess it won’t be very effective to shield me from the sun, but it’s a fab fashion statement!

    LeeAnne, Style N Season
    http://stylenseason.blogspot.com/

  3. Ana says:

    Oh, how fun!! I’ve always wanted to go to a steampunk party but I’ve never had the chance.


Leave a Reply

