You Pick A Color And I’ll Sing It For You

Aha! Finally I’m able to use this line from Athlete’s “Superhuman Touch” for a post title!

So, I’ve signed up for the Bloggers Do It Better challenge on Pretty Shiny Sparkly, where each week you’ll have an assignment (a trend, accessory, color, pattern, etc.) and do your own interpretation of it. The first assignment is “Color Blocking or Bold Colorful Stripe.” I decided to do color-blocking, because it’s a spring trend I’m still not so sure about, both in terms of technique as well as in “I don’t know if I like it” (despite having done it unintentionally before.) Anyway, this is what I come up with:



Hey, look at that. My belt matches the railings!

Shirt: Gap
Cardigan: Target, remixed
Skinny: Urban Outfitters, remixed
Boots: Journee via Amazon.com, remixed
Belt: thrifted
Necklace: from Italy (it’s Venetian glass), a few summers ago

This challenge is quite… um, challenging for me, because most of the examples of color blocking relies on a colorful bottom, and I have none – all of my pants/skirts are either dark or neutral, and so are my solid dresses. But it’s good, because it forces me to work with what I got.

And despite my clothes are all solid today, I still didn’t fail my “4 Elements” checklist!


Pattern!

5 Comments on “You Pick A Color And I’ll Sing It For You”

  1. Loving you in red!!

    Monique xx

    misszuman.blogspot.com

  2. I like how you mixed the neutrals with the brights. A little less overwhelming that way! RIght!

    Please visit me here and see how a 49 year old does Color Blocking! http://stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/2011/04/color-blocking-two-ways-outfits-modeled-by-women-over-45/
    The Chief Blonde!

  3. […] say this week I learned not to be afraid of my choice of outfit, whether it works or not. Like on Monday, when I did the color blocking. Or Tuesday with my Easter color combination. Or yesterday when […]

  4. […] feel like a box of Crayola. Even though I have done a sort of half-assed version of color blocking before, I’ve never done it with such bright colors. So yeah, I’m a closeted (almost literally) […]


Leave a Reply

