Flower Child

I had planned to take my pictures outside my apartment building today, but I was pressed for time, so here’s another grand view of my staircase:

(I didn’t realize my face is out of focus until I uploaded the picture. Like I said, I was in a hurry.)

Button-up: Gap thrifted
Cardigan: thrifted (the tag fell off)
Jeans: from home, remixed
Belt: from home, remixed
Oxfords: Sidecca, remixed
Enamel brooch: Vintage, via Collectible Glitz

I bought the brooch over the weekend (I’ll talk more about it on my “Awkward and Awesome” post), and I was thinking about channeling Emma Pillsbury of Glee (say what you want about the show, Emma has an adorable wardrobe.) But I didn’t feel like wearing a skirt, so instead I channeled… a 70’s girl celebrating St. Patrick’s Day?! (the jeans are not quite bell-bottoms, but they have a bit of a flare, hence the 70’s part :P)

Also, I’ve recently discovered this formula for a great outfit, which is really interesting and kind of eye-opening. Basically the author says a great outfit has 4 elements. Let’s see if I pass the checklist:

1. Color: Green and orange. Belated St. Patrick’s colors, but OK.
2. Texture: Knitted cardigan.
3. Pattern: Plaid. A little boring, but still…
4. Shine: Brooch. Not that sparkly, but it does have a faux-pearl center. (This element I don’t quite agree with, maybe because I’m not much of a jewelry person. I can see that it adds a little more spark to the whole though. I love brooches, so I think that’s going to be my go-to “shine” element now.)

Not bad, huh?

8 Comments on “Flower Child”

  1. Loving this combo!! That brooch is adorable!

    Monique xx

    misszuman.blogspot.com

  2. Loving your flower power!

  3. I love this color combination. The orange brooch looks amazing on the green cardi. The outfit formula is really helpful also!

    http://thriftyandshameless.blogspot.com

  4. Jani Schinke says:

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a lot!

    • Salazar says:

      If you could let me know what your posts are about beforehand, it will be no problem. I just want to make sure that the quotes you get from my blog are relevant to yours 🙂

  5. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks a lot

  6. […] technically this is very similar to my “Flower Child” outfit, so I replaced my enamel brooch with this pin that I made myself from a fabric flower […]


Leave a Reply

