Static

floral dress black tights brown ankle boots by 14 shades of grey

The Lunar New Year holiday officially starts this Friday at my school, but since my last class was on Wednesday, I got off two days early. I’m pretty sure I won’t do much during the next two weeks except to catch up on my TV shows, and that’s totally fine by me.

Anyway, I don’t usually copy celebrities’ style, but we’re having some unseasonably warm days (it’s going to cool down just in time for the New Year though, a Lunar New Year without some misty, drizzly rain for us would be like Christmas without snow), so when I saw these pictures of Elisabeth Moss at Sundance, I thought it was such a fun, recreateable look that I had to try it. Of course, I didn’t realize that the combination of tights + polyester dress + knitted cardigan on a warm, dry day would turn the outfit into one giant static ball. I must’ve zapped myself at least a couple of times.

Another thing I didn’t realize is that I had the necklace on backwards the entire time. Good thing I remember to check the close-up shot and switched it back :P

floral dress black tights knitted cardigan by 14 shades of greyfloral dress black tights by 14 shades of grey

floral dress black tights by 14 shades of greyfloral dress black tights brown ankle boots by 14 shades of grey

floral dress black tights brown ankle boots by 14 shades of greyfloral dress initial necklace by 14 shades of grey

Dress & Cardigan (H&M): hand-me-down, Tights: Target, Boots: Steve Madden (thrifted), Necklace: gift

7 Comments on “Static”

  1. Isabella says:

    I love this! That dress is right up my alley, as are the purple tights. You also picked a beautiful backdrop for the photos :)

  2. kezzie says:

    Very pretty!! I really like it!! Good location too! X

  3. OMG, when I saw your post, I *totally* said to myself, “Oh cute, that looks like the outfit Elisabeth Moss recently wore at Sundance.” And then clapped out loud when I read that was your inspiration! You look super-cute in this outfit, and it also reminds of the *good* style trends that came out of the ’90s. :D

  4. Beautiful! I love the dress, the tights, the booties… the necklace!! Pinning this!
    Thanks for linking up for Passion For Fashion

  5. renaesimpler says:

    hi, I barely know you but I feel like I should. You and I have been around blog-land on our favorite blogs. I love the boots and dress look you have today. I want to do that but I don’t have a floral skirt of dress. doh.

  6. I’m really in love with your dress! Such a cute look, and I had the same necklace incident last week – except I didn’t realize it until too late!

  7. Bri Marie says:

    Love these colors together! Really cute outfit!


Leave a Reply

