SIA Inspiration: Suzanne Valadon

Happy Monday, everyone! I’m still busy (boo) but hopefully only until the end of the week. The Lunar New Year is almost here, so starting from next Monday, I’m going to have two weeks to binge-watch Doctor Who to my heart’s content.

Anyway, here’s my pick for this week’s SIA, “Louison and Raminou” by Suzanne Valadon:

A quick look at Valadon’s biography shows a fascinating life – she took painting lessons from Toulouse-Lautrec, had an affair with Renoir, and was close friends with Degas – but I’m mostly drawn to this piece because it has a cat in it (Valadon actually painted cats quite a lot). Of course, the rich, deep colors also help.

So send me your submission by next Monday, January 27th, and the post will go up on Tuesday. Bonus point if you have a cat in the picture with you (just kidding, we’re not counting points here. But I would love it.) Have fun!

4 Comments on “SIA Inspiration: Suzanne Valadon”

  1. Kezzie says:

    OOoh, what a darling painting!!!! I really like it!!! BUT, struggling to think of an entire outfit- I can do several different tops which meet all the elements of this picture, each by themselves matching one element (but not all)- but bottom half?!?!!?!!? Er-???

    Ooooh, Doctor Who! My Mum bought me the 50th anniversary book for Christmas and I spent so long reading it last night!!x

  2. […] Style Imitating Art time again! This week, Salazar @ 14 Shades of Grey chose the 1920 portrait Louison and Raminou, by artist Suzanne Valadon. Salazar chose this […]

  3. Isabella says:

    This is lovely! I’m happy that SIA gives me the opportunity to learn about artists I didn’t know :) I’ll send my outfit along soon.

  4. […] this outfit was inspired by the latest Style Imitating Art choice by Salazar, “Louison and Raminou” by Suzanne […]


Leave a Reply

