I May Have Found My Style Icon

Whenever I get asked something like “Which celebrity do you look to for style inspiration?” I always answer with an uncertain “… no one?” It’s not that I don’t like the style of any celebrity (on the top of my head are Natalie Portman, Carey Mulligan, and Emma Stone – I used to like Zooey Deschanel too but she got too twee for me), but I find their red carpet looks too unrealistic and their everyday looks too basic to be inspiring. Well, no more! From now on, I can answer that question with “Lisa Hannigan.” She’s an Irish singer/songwriter who used to be in Damien Rice’s band, but is now a solo artist. I first heard her on 9 Crimes, but I didn’t love the album enough to go look her (or Damien Rice, for that matter) up. I only became interested in her music a while go when I found out that she sang a duet with Snow Patrol’s Gary Lightbody (of course.)

Musical talent aside (her music is folksier than what I usually listen to, but her voice is amazing), what I love about Lisa Hannigan is her style. You can almost always find her in some sort of vintage dress (she says in this interview that she loves the 40’s and 50’s silhouette), or a blouse and skirt, usually with opaque tights, some cute but sensible shoes or boots, and minimal but eye-catching accessories. It’s just the right mix of vintage and quirky that I want my style to be, and what’s most important is that it is so simple, effortless, and she seems so relatable that I have no trouble imagining myself wearing something similar. So this outfit is my attempt to emulate her style. It’s a bit literal, but hey, it’s only my first try.

Dress/Tunic: Old Navy, Belt: Forever21, Tights: Target
Boots: Journee (via Amazon), Necklace: self-made from a Michael’s pendant

7 Comments on “I May Have Found My Style Icon”

  1. Kristina says:

    Ooh, I like her style, and I think that your translation suits you so well! Your dress is super pretty, and I love it with tights and boots!

  2. Megan says:

    She’s cute! Love her vintage inspired style, and she definitely seems like someone that could be your ‘style icon’. On that note, this outfit of yours is probably my favorite from your blog to date. That dress fits you perfectly and I wouldn’t have thought to wear those tights but the color works perfectly!

    Oh, and side note: I totally agree about Zooey Deschanel. Everyone is obsessed with her style, but I think she usually looks like a teenager.

  3. teddi says:

    what a good style match for you. i bet you’re thrilled that you discovered her.

  4. A House and A Garden says:

    You are adorable and your blos is super cute. And hey; you’ve got style!

  5. [...] too cold. I call it my “Lisa Hannigan dress”; ever since Lisa Hannigan became my new style icon, I’ve been on the lookout for a dress similar to hers – something in the 40′s or [...]

  6. lapetite says:

    I totally agree, Lisa Hannigan’s style is gorgeous and she’s super talented!


Leave a Reply

