Life On Film

When I first got home, I was really excited to discover that my dad still kept his old film camera (it’s an Exa 1b, made by an East Germany company back in late 1970′s, early 1980′s.) Film photography is something I’ve always wanted to get into, because there’s an organic quality to it that digital photos can’t have. I don’t know if “organic” is the right word for it, but for some reason, I feel that what film captures is more real, more “of the moment” than digital. Anyway, I’ve spent the last couple of months practicing around our house, and here are some of the best shots I got. They’re not the greatest, but I’m excited to keep trying.

I also got a roll of black and white film, but either because the film was old or (the more likely reason) I’m not great at shooting black-and-white, all of the shots came out like bad photocopies of color photos. The only one that looks OK is this shot of my niece and my brother-in-law:

6 Comments on “Life On Film”

  1. I LOVE the one of the cat and the… dragonfly? It’s so fuzzy! Weird.

    • Salazar says:

      But that fuzziness is what I like about film photography (to a certain extent, of course, it doesn’t work if the whole photo is fuzzy!) That’s what I mean by it looking more “organic”.

  2. Franziska says:

    Photography is something I always wish I had gotten into more. That kitty picture is too cute!

  3. teddi says:

    hooray for your film photos! these are beautiful, & very artistic.


Leave a Reply

