Simply Red

This is another outfit that made me go through my archive to make sure I haven’t worn it before. The pants and the shirt are such favorite of mine that I’m surprised I haven’t thought of pairing them with each other. Expect to see a lot more of the pants in the coming months, since “oxblood” has been declared a color of Fall 2012 by… someone. I kid, of course. I don’t follow trends that much. Especially in this case, when I think the fashion world just started calling that color “oxblood” so they could trick plebs like us into buying a bunch of new things without knowing that it’s actually maroon/burgundy/simply red (I couldn’t resist the pun. Anybody even remember that band?)

Shirt: H&M, Pants: thrifted, Brooch: vintage
Flats: borrowed from my sister

8 Comments on “Simply Red”

  1. I prefer the terms wine, merlot, and crimson to oxblood… and I wonder why they chose “ox”- why not goatsblood or llamablood or monkeyblood? All equally horrible!

  2. teddi says:

    looking good salazar! yes, i remember the band simply red, “if you don’t know me by now.”

  3. Katie says:

    love your red pants with the stripes! so cute!

  4. Love your look! It’s very nautical, and your brooch is a great addition :)

  5. Megan says:

    I refuse to use the term ‘oxblood’. Fancy shmancy way of saying maroon/red :D Love your pants with the striped top.

  6. Kate says:

    Stopping by from Pleated Poppy– I love your pants! I have a pair in a similar shade, and they seem to go with everything!! I have to restrain myself from wearing them all the time! You look great :)

    Kate @ A Journey in Style

  7. Stripes and red (oxblood = gross) pants, is there anything not to love? Super cute!

    twolovebirdswithoutanest.blogspot.com

  8. Franziska says:

    I agree with your oxblood analysis 100%. I think the fashion industry thinks we’re all stupid, and don’t realize that oxblood is actually a color that has been around FOREVER.

    But. I do love how it looks with the blue. Those pants fit you like a dream :)


Leave a Reply

