Red Fuji

It’s another week of Style Imitating Art, and once again I’m blown away by the all varied interpretations of the inspiration, Kasushika Hokusai’s woodblock print South Wind, Clear Sky:

First up, we have Jen of Librarian for Life Style, who picked the perfect striped sweater to echo the lateral clouds in the print:

Next is Rebekah of From the Mixed-Up Files, with just the right mixture of flow and structure:

Pao of Project Minima chose to go a less literal route with a Japanese-inspired floral print, but still manages to look like she belongs in the painting:

Similarly, Noelle of Tilly’s Notions also picked a floral print that is reminiscent of the woodblock look, and chose to interpret the painting’s texture rather than colors:

Then we have one of my co-hosts, Vivienne of Thrifted Shift, who picked the perfect sweater and accessory:

Co-creator Jess of Animated Cardigan not only has a lovely interpretation, but also serendipitously came across the very same print while on her vacation!

Kezzie of KezzieAG offered yet another way to interpret the print when she mimicked the shape of Fuji with her hat and skirt:

We have a new participant this week! Please welcome Vix of Vintage Vixen, who was inspired by Pao to join us:

And finally, it’s me – simple, to the point. Since this post is overload already (but hey, the more the merrier), I’ll do a separate outfit post tomorrow:

ETA: We have a late entry from Teddi of Honeybee Lane. I love her brilliant red boots:

8 Comments on “Red Fuji”

  1. Hooray for SIA! I love seeing everyone’s different takes!

  2. Jess says:

    Oh my gosh, everyone looks just splendid. This was such great inspiration!

  3. Vix says:

    I loved taking part! What a splendid blend of interpretations, too. x

  4. noelle says:

    Everybody looks so good! I really love the way Jess’s shirt and Vivienne’s bag emulate the clouds in the blue sky.

  5. noelle says:

    Oh! And I forgot to say how much fun I have doing this! Each week I see the art and I think, “oh boy, what am I going to do for that?” Then after doing some research, going through my closet, and contemplating for a few days, I really fall in love with the pieces. I actually get really sad to say goodbye to the art at the end of the week!

  6. Kezzie says:

    Yay! Lots more people! Love the different interpretations which are all splendid! Jess is definitely my favourite look though!!!! I’d love to wear that outfit! Thank you for organising it again!

  7. teddi says:

    oh, it’s so fun to see everyone’s style interpretation! fun looks :)

  8. [...] Update:  Check out all the other Red Fuji-inspired outfits over here at 14 Shades of Grey! [...]


Leave a Reply

