Weekend Round-Up #60

It has been four months since my last weekend round-up. It’s been so long I don’t even remember the template anymore. I don’t miss the searching around for links and stuff, but I miss the book review and the sharing of favorite blog and song. And since I figure the best way to get back into a regular posting schedule is just to, you know, actually sit down and do it, here we go again.

COOL STUFF:

- These bear cubs use a skinny tree as their own personal playground. Too cute!

- Can somebody get me a wood leaf brooch?

- These cool illustrations make me think of one of my best friends from high school, who used to collect pencil shavings:

- This is such a cool, relaxed and still super cute outfit:

A few links:

- A comic about a feline tomentor that I can relate to all too well.

- The creators of Game of Thrones¬†played pranks on Kit Harrington (Jon Snow) and Alfie Allen (Theon Greyjoy) with fake scripts. Watch out next season, Jack Gleeson and Richard Madden, they seem to be targeting the guys…

- Speaking of Game of Thrones, how about a shameless slice of self-promotion? A couple of weeks ago I was bored and started a crossover blog of Game of Thrones meets The IT Crowd called The Westeros Crowd. Check it out if you like!

BLOG: The Sea of Fertility by Nancy. She’s an amazing illustrator (each of her outfit post is accompanied by an illustration of the outfit) and her arty, elegant sense of style, a perfect mixture of vintage, ethnic, and high fashion is pretty much how I wish I could dress everyday.

BOOK: “Little Brother” by Cory Doctorow. This is one of the books I had to read for an online course in fantasy and science-fiction that I was taking (which is also why I haven’t picked up a new book in months, we had to read all these classics that I didn’t feel like reviewing.) “Little Brother” is listed as science-fiction, but its tale of surveillance and violation of privacy all in the name of public safety sounds frighteningly real to me. It has a lot of great instructions on how to protect your online anonymity, and its message of “standing up to the man” will have you cheering (I certainly did.) My only problem with it is that it is too didactic – Doctorow is so determined to get his message across that he sort of forgot the story and character development a little bit. This is a story ripe for plot twists, and I was so disappointed when none of the set-ups pays off. Still, it’s a quick, thought-provoking read, and the fact that it’s free online (as is Doctorow’s other books) makes it even better.

SONG: “Bloodbuzz Ohio” by The National. I’m not a hipster, I just have the playlist of one.

One Comment on “Weekend Round-Up #60”

  1. What a rich post! 1. Cute bears! 2. Great brooch, I don’t even wear brooches and I want one. 3. OMG pencil shaving ballerina art! Hooray! 4. Thanks for the link to Sea of Fertility. It’s kind of awesome. 5. Occidental College is in the Eagle Rock neighborhood near Pasadena and Burbank.


Leave a Reply

