Simplicity

I feel my style has gotten a lot simpler lately – less layering, less accessories, less pattern mixing. There are several reasons for that (the heat and humidity certainly play no small roles in my not wanting to layer and accessorize more), but mainly I think it’s because I’ve gotten better at defining my style. I guess it makes sense when you think about my favorite periods in historical costume – Georgian, Regency, 1880’s, and Edwardian. In those, I love looking at Georgian and 1880’s clothes but I never want to wear them. The corsets, the panniers, the bustle, the bows, the lace… no, just no. On the other hand, I would love to wear Regency or Edwardian clothes, which have less details and look cleaner in terms of silhouette. So it’s only natural that I’m going for a more straightforward and basic style. Well, that and the fact that I don’t have the body or the personality to pull off the twee, vintage-inspired style, no matter how hard I tried.


Checking out a millipede poking its way through the dirt

Shirt & Skirt: thrifted, Flats: Payless, Bracelet (which you can’t even see): self-made

4 Comments on “Simplicity”

  1. Meredith says:

    Simple and classy! It is fun exploring different time periods and picking out clothes with some of the same designs. Your outfit is super cute. I love the pop of color from your shoes :)

  2. Megan says:

    I like simple looks like this one, it looks less fussy and more effortless. Your flats add a fun touch too :) Have a great weekend!

  3. Cute! I especially like this top!

  4. I think this style suits you so well! I love your pink flats.


Leave a Reply

