Let The Travel Begins

Sorry for the radio silence. Yesterday was Vietnam’s Independence Day, and we had a long weekend (which coincided with Labor Day weekend – hope my US readers had a good time!) so my family decided to have a road trip to our hometown. It’s also sort of a preparation for me and Debbi, now that September is here and we’re going to start our traveling for earnest. More posts about the trip will be up later this week, but for now, here’s something from our outing last Friday. We went out for dinner, had delicious Black Forest cake for dessert, and went to a bar ran by my friend from high school to watch some pretty good short films. Other than the fact that we got lost trying to find the bar even though it’s right there (never rely on Google Maps in the maze of Hanoi Old Quarter), it was fun.

On me: tailor-made dress (it was my mom’s but she decided it was too young for her), Target belt, Payless flats
On Debbi: tailor-made shorts, Target cardigan, Gap tank top


The Black Forest cake, and an Engrish menu (the “jambon and format” one is actually ham and cheese, from the French “jambon” and “frommage”)

By the way, this is the inspiration for next week’s Style Imitating Art – Portrait of Louise Trudaine by Jacques-Louis David. I thought we’d go back to something simple this time.

6 Comments on “Let The Travel Begins”

  1. ki. says:

    Happy Independence Day :-)
    I really like your dress and it is perfect with the purple flats!

  2. augustsdays says:

    That dress is stunning ! :)

  3. Cortney A. says:

    Love that dress! The print is gorgeous! Just what I look for when I go to buy a dress. :) (I recently tried to buy a floral dress, but the print looked way different in person than online.)

    Also that cake looks delicious!

  4. Jess says:

    I adore everything about this post. Your outfit, Debbi’s outfit, the CAKE, the inspiration. I love it all. Fantastic.

  5. liz says:

    gorgeous dress! and the belt and shoes definitely pop!

  6. […] the outfit: I’m wearing this dress backward (not that you can’t tell.) This is how the neckline looks, but it doesn’t work with the cardigan and the necklace, so I […]


Leave a Reply

