“He’s an emotionally retarded arty boy who’s in love with another woman. Of course I like him.”

It’s been a while since I did a movie review, and I have no other post lined up for today, so why not? I was thinking of doing Creation, but upon watching it again I realized I wasn’t feeling up to writing “depressing” about a hundred times in my review. So I decided to go out of my comfort zone a bit and write about “The Decoy Bride” instead.

OK, so maybe it’s not that far out of my comfort zone: it’s a British rom-com starring Kelly Macdonald and David Tennant. The only thing that makes it different from my usual fare is that it’s set in modern day. And is a total chick flick (I have nothing against chick flicks, I’m just not used to those that don’t have any bonnets or knee breeches in them.)

If you can’t tell from the title already, here’s a quick plot summary: Kelly Macdonald plays Katie, an unlucky-in-love woman (“I’ve gone man vegan,” she says) who returns to her home in a remote island in the Outer Hebrides only to find it being hijacked for a super secret wedding between world-famous actress Lara Tyler (Alice Eve) and her author fiance James Arber (David Tennant). With the paparazzi swarming the place, Katie is hired as a decoy bride to wed James in a fake ceremony to keep the press happy… and hijinks ensue.

As “standard chick flick” as that sounds, the movie is actually really good. I’ve recently heard a pretty accurate way to describe a rom-com: it doesn’t matter what happens – we know the two leads are going to get together – the important thing is how it happens. And the way it happens in “The Decoy Bride” is definitely not standard (just for an example, the “meet-cute” happens when Katie pretends to be the ghost of a cow haunting an antique toilet to scare James.) It’s funny, cute, and endearing without ever being cheesy. There are cutesy lines, but they’re so relatable (such as the quote in the title – that describes my type so perfectly) and all the characters are so real that it doesn’t matter.  I mean, imagine this as your typical Hollywood rom-com starring say, Katherine Heigl and James Marsden (please, Hollywood, don’t get any idea. Nothing against those actors, of course. I couldn’t remember a thing about 27 Dresses, but then I only watched about 20 minutes of it on a plane.) Imagine how formulaic and cliched that would be. Not here. Maybe I’m just biased, but everything sounds so much more genuine when said with a Scottish accent.

Basically, this is the perfect chick flick for an Anglophile who doesn’t watch chick flicks (like me.)

3 Comments on ““He’s an emotionally retarded arty boy who’s in love with another woman. Of course I like him.””

  1. I’d never heard of that movie so thanks for putting it on my radar! Scottish romantic comedy? I’m totally there!

  2. Sarah says:

    I started laughing when I saw the title. I need to go find a copy of this ASAP.

  3. Cortney A. says:

    This sounds right up my alley! Adding to my Netflix Queue now! :)


Leave a Reply

