The Painter: To The Moon

So I finally got some time and some sunshine to take outfit pictures (just me though, the outfit that Debbi planted is more suitable for a cooler day.) The past couple of weeks has been sort of an impromptu break from outfit posts, and I’ve gotten to a point where I’m lazy about taking photos of my outfits. Hopefully this way I can ease back into it and find a happy balance between documenting my outfit everyday and only documenting it when I’m going out.

Again, the inspiration is Marc Chagall’s The Painter: To the Moon, and here is how my fellow bloggers interpreted it.

First up is Vivienne of Thrifted Shift, who, I’m excited to announce, is now a permanent host! She translated the painting into two lovely, and completely different looks:

Then we have my co-creator, Jess of Animated Cardigan. I’m having serious skirt-envy:

And here is Pao, who brings wonderful texture and pattern to her look:

Finally, a shout-out to my sister (whose birthday was yesterday, but I forgot to acknowledge it in yesterday’s post. We’re having a combined party this weekend anyway, but still – happy birthday sis!), because 75% of what I’m wearing is either borrowed from her/given to me by her.

Shirt: Zara (borrowed from my sister), Jeans: hand-me-down from my sister
Sandals: Easy Spirit (thrifted)

5 Comments on “The Painter: To The Moon”

  1. You look cute! Yay for sisters and their closets! I’m surprised it’s cool enough to wear jeans over there! I just love SIA and seeing how everyone interprets it, it always puts a smile on my face!
    –Vivienne

  2. Megan says:

    Very cute! All of you ladies rock :)

  3. Anh says:

    This is such a great idea! How often do you do these Style Imitating Art posts? I’d love to participate one of these times. =)

    By the way I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award here: http://www.modthirtyone.com/2012/07/29/billabong-7-things-one-lovely-blog/

    Hope you keep it going!

    xo,
    Anh

    • Salazar says:

      We have three hosts (me, Animated Cardigan, and Thrifted Shift) that take turn each week to post a painting as inspiration and post all the outfits the week after. So if you want to participate, just check Thrifted Shift next Monday for the inspiration painting and send her a picture of your outfit. I hope you do!

      And thanks for the nomination. It’s very sweet of you to think of me.

  4. Jess says:

    Oh man, your/your sister’s top. Amazing. I love the interpretations!


Leave a Reply

