Vietnam Museum of Ethnology

Yesterday seemed a little cooler (it wasn’t, not really), so I took Debbi to the Museum of Ethnology. In Vietnam we have 54 different ethnic groups, each with their own costume, traditions, and lifestyle, and this museum is dedicated to showcase their cultures. I didn’t take a lot of pictures of the indoor exhibitions, because we’re probably going to places where we can actually see those things in their everyday context (and not in a glass box in a museum), but here are some photos of the outdoor exhibition, which features houses from different parts of Vietnam.


A multi-generation home of Ede people


The stage for water puppet shows


A typical house in northern rural Vietnam (my dad’s childhood home looks a lot like this)

The most memorable part, though, has to be these fertility statues outside a charnel house. We christened this guy “Forever Alone”:

6 Comments on “Vietnam Museum of Ethnology”

  1. Chloe says:

    i have been there too!

  2. mariecarolk says:

    That’s really beautiful. I think I need to visit Vietnam :)

  3. Sarah says:

    Poor “Forever Alone” guy, haha. Seriously, though, looks like that was a neat place to roam!

  4. Hahaha- Forever Alone! Hahahaha! Love these photos! That second photo actually reminds me a lot of traditional Pacific Northwest longhouses! I love your top and your friend’s pants are awesome!
    –Vivienne

  5. Megan says:

    Looks awesome! Love that outdoor puppet stage – so cool :)

  6. Cortney A. says:

    I totally laughed at poor “Forever Alone” guy. :)

    I absolutely love visiting museums and this one is definitely going on my list of ones that I must visit someday!


Leave a Reply

