Urban Weeds

One of my laments about living in LA is that everything is so artificial; you can’t feel nature around you. So I was delighted to come across this vacant lot with grass and weeds growing freely (oh and, a random tractor, but it adds to the charm of the place.) There was a “remove weeds” notice already by the fence, so I had to sneak in before it was all gone. I got paranoid every time I heard a car approaching; luckily nobody caught me (I did get some weird looks, but I’m used to it now.) Come to think of it, “trespassing for a style blog photo shoot” would make a weird charge.

On an outfit-related note, it’s a copy of this pin (no original source, sorry.) Although, had I know I would be wading through waist-high weeds, I would’ve worn boots.

Shirt: thrifted, Sweater: Gap (thrifted), Jeans: Charlotte Russe
Oxfords: thrifted via Buffalo Exchange, Bracelet: self-made

And yes I ripped off the Urban Weeds blog name for the post title. I’ve featured it on a Blog of the Week before, but couldn’t hurt if it directed some stray search phrases my way ;)

7 Comments on “Urban Weeds”

  1. Holy cow, you look like you’re in the middle of nowhere, NOT the middle of LA! Way to scout out an awesome photo location :) And of course, I LOVE the outfit too!!

  2. Cortney A. says:

    Ooh I love how this turned out! What a wonderful place to run across! Those shoes are divine, btw. :)

  3. Loren says:

    Great location! Great job taking advantage of an empty lot. You look adorably farm girl with your hair braided and the plaid & blue jeans. You’d fit in just fine here in Kentucky ;)

  4. liz says:

    ahh love the first pic with the tractor! reminds me of growing up in iowa [even though i was in the "big city"] definitely like your red+gingham better than the pin. and the shoes are awesome!

  5. Having lived in LA, I can totally relate to your comment about everything being artificial. How great that you found this location! I like your shoes, even if boots would have been more sensible…
    –TS

  6. Mara says:

    I love this! I wish I could style jeans as well as you do. And I love your shoes!
    I think I get braver in taking pictures when I’m with someone. My friend and I trespassed on some property with a cool old farmhouse for her pregnancy pictures. It was kinda fun. But we had to hide for a bit from a county worker who was putting up signs!


Leave a Reply

