Weekend Round-Up #57

I’ll make this quick, because I have a date with Doctor Who on my computer.

LINKS OF THE WEEK:

It’s wedding season (it is, isn’t it? I’m not so sure about it here, since in Vietnam our wedding season is from November to February. I can’t imagine why, it’s absolutely the most miserable time of the year to get married), so bridal collections and wedding inspirations are everywhere. Only two jumps out at me though:

- First is this Vera Wang all-red bridal collection. I love that the more traditional white is completely absent – after all, red is a traditional bridal color in China and Vietnam (though usually only if you’re getting married in áo dài, our national costume.)

- The second is this insanely gorgeous 18th-century themed wedding. If I had the money (and a willing fiancé, of course), that would be how I wanted to get married.

- It looks like colored denims are here to stay, so if you’re still unsure how to wear them, College Fashion has some tips for you.

- 8 trends from our childhood are making a comeback… I don’t think I can get on board with the jellies or platform sneakers.

- Helpful tips from Refinery29 on how to find the right dresses for your body type, and the right glasses for your face shape.

- These map pendants are cute, easy to make, and a great way to keep the memories of places you’ve visited.

- How funny are these vintage postcards?

- I saw this on one of Cracked’s “Images You Won’t Believe Are Not Photoshopped” articles: a photographer built tiny sets for ants to interact with and took photos of them. The results are like something right out of A Bug’s Life. How freaking cute and amazing is this?

- Finally, State Home for Manic Pixie Dream Girls. “They all listen to the Smiths.” ‘Nuff said.

BLOG OF THE WEEK: Putting Me Together by Audrey. Audrey has a simple, but very relatable style – and by that I mean I wish I could rob her closet :D Her features on “One Piece Many Ways“, and how to build a remixable wardrobe are also extremely helpful.

BOOK OF THE WEEK: “Ender’s Shadow” by Orson Scott Card. This is a companion novel to Ender’s Game, told from the point of view of Ender’s right-hand man, Bean. I thoroughly enjoy this (it’s also a good thing that I read Ender’s Game a while ago, so I don’t remember a lot of the details); I also got another reason why I was so disappointed with Orson Scott Card’s other book, Enchanted. Enchanted is a fairy tale, and his writing is too coldly analytical for it. No, stay with soul-crushing psychological books about children, OSC. You’re good at that.

SONG OF THE WEEK: “Run” by Snow Patrol. Solely because I’M GOING TO SEE THEM IN TEN DAYS!!! SO EXCITED!!! Also, I get really annoyed when people think Leona Lewis was the first to sing this song.

3 Comments on “Weekend Round-Up #57”

  1. Megan says:

    So jealous that you’ll be seeing Snow Patrol! I love them :)

    Oh goodness, I remember Jelly sandals… I used to love those.

  2. Mara says:

    The ants= so amazing! I am going to have to steal that link for my next Friday Links post. So cool!

  3. Audrey says:

    Wow, thank you, Duc! I’m super duper honored to be mentioned on your blog!


Leave a Reply

