The Script Reader’s Lament

I straight up stole this outfit from Kelley. I would’ve put a little more thought into it (other than “The brown boots would look better with this, only I wore them yesterday already,” I mean), but my brain was on fire. Today I read the worst script I’ve ever read in my time as a script reader – and I’ve read some pretty horrific scripts as an intern, so that gives you an idea of how bad this is. It was like a bad acid trip… which this script probably was. And the worst part is, I’m not allowed to say anything too negative in my comments. I get it, people don’t like to be told that they suck, but to paraphrase Remy from Ratatouille: Anyone can write, that doesn’t mean anyone should.

I tell you, it took a lot of post-Valentine’s Day chocolates to quench my rage.

Shirt: Gap, Blazer: thrifted, Scarf: Forever21
Jeans: Charlotte Russe, Boots: Target

8 Comments on “The Script Reader’s Lament”

  1. AquĆ­ says:

    beautiful blazer! I love the color!

  2. My emotional range for this post went like this: oh, good looking’ outfit! Drool drool drool over the casual magic. Mmmmm, cozy scarf. Hahahahah, the script thing was hysterical. Oh, gosh, the script thing is creepy. Oh, crap, the script thing is tragic. You’re so tactful. And pretty.

    • Salazar says:

      Well, working as a script reader, you have to learn to phrase negative things in a more positive way… I did need to vent though, it was soooooo bad. My mom called me on Skype when I was reading it and I snapped at her, “Can’t talk now, I’m busy reading this piece of garbage.” :D

  3. Mara says:

    I love your scarf! And the whole outfit, actually, it looks really good together! I could never wear blazers like that.

  4. Loren says:

    I love the scarf. But OMG I assume script reading is tragic. I’m not a great writer or anything but submitting something written during an acid trip sounds like someone read Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas to many time.
    Or maybe just that you’ve done to much acid…

  5. Cortney A. says:

    Trust me. I took a bunch of creative writing classes in college, I feel your pain! I actually cringe remembering a class I had with this one kid who just had the most awful writing. And…. he wanted to be a script writer. Maybe you read his piece? haha.

    And of course, I love the outfit. Everything is just… effortlessly perfect. Pinning!

  6. Courtney says:

    Very cute scarf – I really like the look when the tails are behind you. I can commiserate on the awful scripts too…I was a theatre major.

  7. How did I miss this?! So honored that I was able to inspire one of your outfits! I hope everything worked out okay with your sad script :(


Leave a Reply

