The Garden Rules

Isn’t this skirt gorgeous? I was browsing Etsy one night when I saw it, and even though I’m not usually a big fan of wrap skirts, the print is so lovely that I had to snatch it up. And the best part? It’s reversible (red on the other side), so I got two skirts in one!

Today’s Winter Edition challenge is “Pattern Mixing” (easy peasy) and the ABC’s of Style challenge is “J for Jewel Tones”, which the skirt represents. I never thought I would wear red and green together outside of Christmas, but the colors of the skirt definitely tie it all together.

Shirt: Express, thrifted
Skirt: vintage via Age Old Threads
Wedges: Old Navy, thrifted; Bracelet: self-made
Post title: song by Snow Patrol

18 Comments on “The Garden Rules”

  1. Jennifer says:

    This is absolutely adorable–I love that skirt! But I love it even more mixed with that shirt and belt!

  2. Loren says:

    Oh wow, this skirt is gorgeous! Love the print! And reversible is great, double the skirt for the same money!
    (Also, yes I believe Dorthy Perkins is still having a clearance sale… I got a bunch of dresses for less than 20 bucks a piece.)

  3. Courtney says:

    that skirt is beautiful. I love it with your shoes.

    Courtney
    wearingwhatiwant.blogspot.com

  4. Mary,MI says:

    That is an awesome outfit. Not everybody could carry two different design of clothing but you did. Great one!!

    Thrifted

  5. Erica says:

    Wow, that skirt is lovely! Great purchase! and I love the floral print with stripes!

    North Meets South

  6. preethi says:

    That skirt really is SO pretty. And I clearly love floral with stripes. :) So fun!

    preethi
    lace, etc.

  7. Steph says:

    Your skirt is beautiful and I love it with the striped top. So Cute!

  8. Say says:

    I am in LOVE with that skirt! Such a great combination- it works really well with the striped shirt :)

    Say
    eighteenthofmay.blogspot.com

  9. choosingyou says:

    I love the flowers and stripes.

  10. Rebekah says:

    Ah! that is so adorable!

  11. Rebekah says:

    I looked at your blog a LOT during the summer challenge. I am about to be your newest follower. I love your style!

  12. Rebekah says:

    Ah nuts. I’ve tried to follow but it is not working for some reason.

    • Rebekah says:

      Whenever I click on the RSS instead of bringing me to the reader page it is a lot of html, with the error: “This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it.” The Modcloth blog did the same thing to me. I think it might be my web browser, but am not sure how to fix it. I will have to try on my other computer.

      • Salazar says:

        Huh. OK. The RSS seems to be working for me. Well, if nothing works out, you can always simply bookmark it – that’s how I follow a lot of blogs. How you follow doesn’t matter, as long as you keep reading :)

  13. Stacey says:

    Oh wow, that skirt is gorgeous! Good job snatching it up – that’s what I would have done!

  14. AquĆ­ says:

    you’ve got skills lady! You always mix those prints so well!

  15. This skirt is beeeeaautiful! And the length is so fun.

    See Me Rwar


Leave a Reply

