Weekend Round-Up: Where Did Time Go?

I can’t believe that next Sunday is Christmas and the Sunday after that is going to be New Year. This year really did flew by.

Links of the Week:

- Elsie of A Beautiful Mess shares some cute ways to dress up a winter coat. Ah, when will I find that elusive yellow coat?

- Boots aren’t just for skinny jeans and skirts. Here are a few ideas on how to wear them with boyfriend jeans.

- A cute, fun and easy Christmas sweater DIY from Kayla of Freckles in April.

- Another DIY: I’m slightly obsessed with leopard print right now, and I’ve always been obsessed with Peter Pan collars, so this tutorial for detachable faux fur collar hits the spot.

- Are turtlenecks back in style? If you want to keep your neck warm but avoid looking like a dork, here’s a guide.

- Don’t put away your warm weather clothes, there are still ways to incorporate them into your winter wardrobe!

- Random link, which I saved a while ago but forgot to post: a comparison between Ancient Egypt and the Internet shows us that nothing changes.

Blog of the Week: Hel Looks. I don’t read a lot of street style blogs, but this is one that I frequent, which features street style from Finland (“Hel” stands for Helsinki.) Everybody has a unique look; there’s always a little blurb next to the photo to explain their inspirations and style, plus it’s that Scandinavian thing again :) Here are some of my favorites.

Book of the Week: “The Ruby in the Smoke” by Philip Pullman. This is the first book in the Sally Lockhart series, about a young woman doing detective work in Victorian England. I never read the His Dark Materials series, so I wasn’t familiar with Philip Pullman’s writing; I picked this up only because I’ve seen the adaptation and was not impressed with it (despite the fact that it was made by the same team who did Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South, and full of British actors I love), so I wanted to read the book to see if the story makes more sense. Well, it does… but it’s still not very interesting. For a detective story to really grab me, there has to be a new angle on it, and “Victorian Nancy Drew” is just not enough.

Song of the Week: “The Ascent of Stan” by Ben Folds. I’m not sure if it was because I was introduced to Ben Folds by my friends in college or not, but his stuff always strikes me as “college music.” Not that there’s anything wrong with that. It’s just a college dorm room seems like the perfect place to play Ben Folds.


One Comment on “Weekend Round-Up: Where Did Time Go?”

  1. Agree, it’s almost bye2 2011!

    Visit me:
    LeeAnne, Style N Season
    http://stylenseason.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

