Dress Your Best: Day 1

The ladies of Academichic have started their Dress Your Best feature again, and I’m participating. The rules are simple: dress to highlight parts of your body that you love, rather than minimizing those that you don’t like.

I have what I think is a pretty nonchalant opinion on body image. I just don’t think about it, as long as I look good to me. But I think this is a good exercise to start paying more attention to your body and celebrate it. Here are my list of what I love about my body:

1. My hair – fine and thick. I refuse to do anything to it (I don’t even use conditioner), and I only wear it in two styles – in a ponytail or a braid – so it’ll be interesting to see how I’ll “dress my best” with it.

2. My legs – I never paid them much attention until I started wearing more dress/skirt/skinny jeans. They’re a little short and always covered in scratches and bruises (I’m the biggest klutz), but they’re straight and strong.

3. My broad shoulders – they make me look more athletic than I am :P

4. My neck – not too long, not too short, but just right. That combined with the shoulders give me a pretty good neckline too.

5. My bust – again, just right :D


Oh great. Summer’s barely began and I already have a permasock tan?

So, my outfit today is mostly focused on my legs (the skirt is shorter than I normally wear, but I bought it anyway because it has built-in shorts), but it can be argued that it’s highlighting my neck and my bust as well.

T-shirt: Forever21, remixed
Skirt: thrifted (it’s another one whose tag says “14”, as in “14 years old.” That’s another thing I like about my short legs. They allow me to wear kid’s clothes! OK, maybe not kids. But young teens.)
Shoes: Payless thrifted, remixed
Belt: Wet Seal
Necklace: self-made

8 Comments on “Dress Your Best: Day 1”

  1. Agreed – I like Academichic’s feature re: highlighting the parts of our body we like best, and you did a fabulous job. (Huzzah for skorts!)

  2. Linhngan says:

    If I ever have a chance to see you, the first thing I’ll do is running to your wardrobe!

  3. Linhngan says:

    geez girl, nice legs, better show them more!!! xxx

  4. Aquí says:

    Love the look you created here and I enjoyed reading about your body highlights! I also really like the fact that you wore a blue shirt and a different shade of blue in your skirt. Look at cupcakesandcashmere.com, she was sporting a blue monochromatic look today too!

  5. Cara says:

    Oh no! Not the perma sock tan!! I love the monochromatic colour scheme!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. […] Vintage My Outfits and Stuff Seamstress Stories Cara’s Closet The Other Emily Lemonade 14 Shades of Grey Some Things I Have Made From Diamonds and Vows, to Where We Are Now […]


Leave a Reply

