Cat Lady

First order of business:

So I’ve made it through one week of my shopping ban. I found a pair of T-strap pumps and a striped cardigan at Goodwill but ended up not buying them because 1) I don’t like T-straps that much. I like ankle straps and Mary Jane’s, but not T-straps, and 2) The cardigan is almost exactly like my Forever21 cardigan, only with red stripes. I told myself I don’t need it.  And then I went right to the second-hand store next door (who put a Goodwill, a Buffalo Exchange and a Rewind Recycled Fashion store next to each other anyway?!) and spent my $5 on this:

I know, I know. I don’t need another shirt dress (a plaid one at that!), but it’s only $5.45! No? Not allowed? I should be ashamed of myself? OK. New rule: I can spend my allowance on accessories (jewelries, belts, maybe shoes. Maybe. But it has to be something I don’t own – like yellow flats or a pair of wedges) but not clothes. One exception: if I find the perfect mustard cardigan, I’m buying it. I’ve been looking for one since forever.

OK, on to today’s outfit:

I thrifted this cat dress a while ago because – kitties! And they’re wearing bow ties! Yeah, according to this cartoon, that’s pretty much how you will think whenever you’re in proximity of a cat. These aren’t even real cats and they still manage to shut down my brain. But I’m destined to become a crazy cat lady anyway, so I don’t mind :D

The thing is, this dress is too casual for work, and somehow every time I went out for a casual thing (book sale, class, writers’ group, etc.) I always forgot that I have this dress in my closet, waiting to be worn… Well, no more! It’s kinda chilly and rainy today (rain! In LA! In the middle of May! Inconceivable!), so I threw on my old sweater to complete the look – every cat lady needs a black cable-knit sweater, right?

Dress, worn as tunic: H&M, thrifted
Sweater: hand-me-down from my sister
Skinny jeans: Target, remixed
Belt: Wet Seal, remixed
Boots: Bamboo thrifted, remixed
Necklace: pendant bought from Michael’s

One Comment on “Cat Lady”

  1. [...] this busy print, and I didn’t want to be too match-matchy by wearing the same pendant I did last time I wore this dress, so I went with this bead that my mom gave me. It’s made out of a mammoth [...]


Leave a Reply

