Colored Tights: Take 2

As I’ve said before, I’m in too much of a hurry to take pictures in the morning. When I take the pictures at night, the lighting sucks, I’m tired, I look a mess, and there’s no other background but my room. But, I’m determined to make a change. This morning I got up 15 minutes earlier and that’s enough time to take pictures. Just right outside my apartment, of course, but if I don’t take too long over breakfast, I can walk further out, and if the background is not exactly pretty, at least it will be different. And getting up 15 minutes earlier doesn’t kill me. If I really want to go all out, I can get up half an hour earlier… but let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

Drum rolls please:


New skirt! New tights! New background!

The tights are actually more purple than navy, but it works out well in the picture because I think navy looks better, because the plaid in my shirt has navy in it. Also, for years that shirt has been my cooking at home/going to the grocery store shirt (I basically have 4 categories of clothes: home/pajamas, grocery/running errands, school/work, and recently added – since my graduation – formal.) I’m glad I find something to pair it with. I’m stealing a bit from Tania of What Would A Nerd Wear.

The skirt is a little long, I know. I was forever hiking it up today, to the point that I’m seriously considering buying a pair of suspenders to wear it with. What do you guys think?


Suspenders or no suspenders?

But it’s a good thing I took the pictures in the morning, because the skirt is linen and gets annoyingly wrinkled at the end of the day (it was already a little wrinkled when I took the pictures.) Then I put on a jacket, but then, looking at the picture, I wasn’t so sure…

Now where have I seen that look before?

Oh yeah, Kim Darby as Mattie in the original True Grit. Minus the colored tights and the oxfords, of course:


Actually… it’s kind of cute. I might steal this.

I decided to leave the jacket at home which turned out to be a good idea, since it was really warm today.

Plaid button-down: tailored from home (in Vietnam, it’s usually easier and sometimes cheaper to go to a tailor and have them make your clothes, rather than buy from a shop. That’s how my mom builds most of her wardrobe.)
Skirt (the sash comes with it): thrifted (unknown brand)
Tights: We Love Colors, via eBay
Oxfords: Sidecca, remixed
Jacket: doesn’t count

I’m not counting the hat anymore.

2 Comments on “Colored Tights: Take 2”

  1. [...] colored tights. Just to sum it up, she doesn’t approve of my pairing. I agree that both of my attempts weren’t stellar, but I get very defensive when people tell me I’m [...]

  2. Ana says:

    Love the pop of color from the tights! The shape of this skirt is great too.

    Thank you for visiting my blog! :o)
    - Ana


Leave a Reply

